What's the meaning of dispersed?

According to the New Oxford American Dictionary, disperse is a verb meaning to distribute or spread over a wide area.

---

The word "disperse" means to distribute or spread over a wide area or to go or cause to go in different directions or to different destinations. "Dispersed" is the past tense of the verb, so it already happened in the past.