When did the united states get into the vietnam war?

In March 1965, President Johnson ordered U.S. Marine battalions to defend the American airbase at Da Nang, Vietnam. It marked the first time combat troops were inserted into the war. By the end of 1968, American troop totals peaked in Vietnam at 540,000.