Why do humans have armpit hair?

As mammals, humans have hair all over their bodies: hair on the head holds in heat when it's cold, hairs deep in our inner ears, called "stereocilia," help us to hear. Hair in the armpits hold odors produced by various glands (pheromones) that our animal ancestors used to attract a mate.