What's the difference between country ham and sugar ham?

Country ham has a deep, rich and intensely salty flavor that is dry-cured over a long period. Sugar or City hams are cured in a solution of salt, water, preservatives and various sweet or savory flavors and usually are smoked over hardwoods like maple or hickory for a well-rounded, smoky flavor.