What happened to chuck cunningham?

As Chuck, O'Herlihy played the basketball jock / older brother of Richie and Joanie (Erin Moran). ... O'Herlihy's character had few speaking parts and by the middle of the first season – which aired in 1974 – "Chuck" was written out of the script by going off to college. He never returned.