What happened to lyca the dog?

Laika, the Soviet space dog, occupant of the Soviet low-orbit spacecraft Sputnik 2, became one of the first animals in space, & to orbit the earth. She died on 3 November 1957, during re-entry into earth's atmosphere, but left her lasting legacy, in paving the way for future human spaceflight.