How much is tuna per pound?

While bluefin often sells for about $40 per pound in Japan and can jump to $200 per pound depending on the time of year and its origin, Kimura paid about $5,000 per pound for the big fish, more than doubling the previous record of $1.76 million he paid for a smaller tuna in 2013