What is the etymology of the word doughnut?

One of the earliest uses of the phrase "doughnut" comes from washington Irving's 1809 book A History of New York, from the Beginning of the World to the End of the Dutch Dynasty. Irving describes "nuts" of fried dough, most likely similar to a modern donut hole.