Why do elephants have tusks?

Tusks are used for defense, offense, digging, lifting objects, gathering food, and stripping bark to eat from trees. They protect the trunk, which is tucked between them when the elephant charges. In times of drought, elephants dig water holes in dry riverbeds by using their tusks, feet, trunks.