Is fiction true or false?

Fiction is false or made up.

---

By definition "Fiction” refers to literature created from the imagination. Mysteries, science fiction, romance, fantasy, chick lit, crime thrillers are all fiction genres. “Nonfiction” refers to literature based in fact.

---

Fiction is not true although some novels are a mixture of truth and made-up story lines.