Is fiction true or false?

By definition "Fiction” refers to literature created from the imagination. Mysteries, science fiction, romance, fantasy, chick lit, crime thrillers are all fiction genres. “Nonfiction” refers to literature based in fact.

---

Fiction is not true although some novels are a mixture of truth and made-up story lines.