How many types of angels are there?

Religious scholars have discerned 9 types of angels. The Seraphim, Cherubim, Thrones, Dominions, Virtues, Powers, Principalities, Archangels, and Angels. Each type having its own purpose. There are also the fallen angels, however they are no longer considered a type of angel.