What came first cheese burger or grilled cheese?

Although no one can pinpoint the precise origin of grilled cheese, the sandwich became very popular in the 1920s. In 1926 Lionel Sternberger is said to have invented the cheeseburger. The 16 year old fry cook at The Rite Spot in Pasadena, CA added American cheese to a sizzling hamburger.