Why do dogs go under the bed?

Dogs will hide under the bed (or another dark, small area) mostly because they find it a comfortable spot to relax and take a nap. As "den animals," small, contained spaces make dogs feel safe and help them relax easier. Dogs also enjoy the temperature that is created under the bed.