What is a rhetorical appeal?

According to Aristotle, Rhetorical Appeals are the 3 elements to the art of persuasion.  They include: Ethos, where the audience perceives credibility (or not). pathos, where the audience is persuaded emotionally, and logos, where the audience is persuaded logically.