What's a ninja?

A ninja or shinobi was a covert agent or mercenary in feudal Japan. The functions of a ninja included espionage, deception, and surprise attacks. ... Following the unification of Japan under the Tokugawa shogunate in the 17th century, the ninja faded into obscurity