Can i substitute sugar for brown sugar?

yes you can substitute white sugar for brown sugar, but you'll be missing the molasses flavor of the brown sugar. A popular brown sugar substitute is white sugar and maple syrup. If the recipe calls for 1 cup brown sugar, use 1 cup white sugar and 1 tablespoon maple syrup.