What is the history of waffles?

Wafflemade its way to America with Dutch colonists in the 1620s.While the waffle iron can be traced all the way back to ancient Greece,the earliest irons in the museum's Domestic collection date to the early 18th century and take the form of two hinged plates at the end of long handles called reins.