What is the history of waffles?

Food historians trace waffle’s back to ancient Greece, when cooks roasted flat cakes between two metal plates attached to a long wooden handle. The first waffle irons with the characteristic honeycomb pattern appeared in the 1200’s when a craftsman designed and forged cooking irons