How many square feet are in a cord of wood?

A cord is a large amount of wood. It measures four feet high by four feet wide by eight feet long and has a volume of 128 cubic feet. The amount of solid wood in a cord varies depending on the size, but for firewood it averages about 85 cubic feet. The rest of the cord volume is air space