Are vocal chords muscles?

Yes

---

Vocal chords, also known as vocal folds, are comprised of several types of tissue. However, the deepest, or innermost part, of the vocal chords are, in fact, muscles. Those muscles are called: the vocalis, and the thyroarytenoid muscles.