How many different types of swords are there?

Swords can be classified by handedness - two hand, single hand, or hand and a half - and blade type - double edged swords, edgeless or thrusting swords, and single edged swords. The combinations of these basic attributes yield 9 basic types of sword, with many specific variations within each.