Why did richard nixon resign the presidency?

By late 1973, the Watergate scandal escalated, costing Nixon much of his political support. On August 9, 1974, facing almost certain impeachment & removal from office, he became the first American president to resign. After his resignation, he was issued a pardon by his successor, Gerald Ford.