How do you get lightning in a bottle?

Lightning in a bottle can be created in any jar with a metal lid. An electrode would be needed for the bottom of the jar. The electricity will flow to that point. Next, a safe source of static electricity or free electrons are needed. Rubbing a balloon or carpet can create these.