How long is an otter's lifespan?

River Otters have been known to live sixteen years in captivity, and may live 10 - 20 yrs in the wild. Sea otters can live up to 25 years of age, although the average lifespan is 10 to 12 years.

---

Male otters live on average between 10-15 years. Female otters have an average lifespan of 15-20 years.