How much can a bladder hold?

Normally, an adult bladder can hold 300 to 400 mL. It can stretch to hold up to 500 mL (about 2 cups). However, some people have a larger bladder capacity due to enlarged prostate in men, surgery, medications, infection, or a nerve problem- and may have over 2 Liters of urine in their bladder.