Is knuckles in sonic the hedgehog 2?

Early in Sonic Adventure 2, Knuckles and Rouge argue over the Emerald; she wants the pieces for her personal collection. Eggman tries to steal it, so Knuckles shatters it aboard Eggman's hovercraft, while also mentioning that if the shards are found they can be made whole.