When was the music man written?

The movie "The Music Man" is based on the 1957 Broadway musical, also called The Music Man, by American playwright Meredith Willson. Willson (in collaboration with Franklin Lacey) novelized the story in 1962. A TV remake, also called The Music Man (2003), was released in 2003.