What is the first law of power?

Law 1: NEVER OUTSHINE THE MASTER. Make your masters appear more brilliant than they are and you will attain the heights of power. When it comes to power, outshining the master is perhaps the worst mistake of all. Never take your position for granted, never let any favors you receive go to your head.