Where did smart alec come from?

The term ''smart alec'' came from the exploits of Alec Hoag, a celebrated con man in New York in the 1840s. He & his wife Melinda and an accomplice known as French Jack, operated a con called the Panel Game, a method by which prostitutes and their pimps robbed customers.