What did john glenn do as an astronaut?

John Herschel Glenn Jr. was the 3rd astronaut to fly a Mercury spacecraft, and the first American to orbit Earth, on February 20, 1962. Later at the age of 77 he flew aboard the Shuttle Discovery.