Has there ever been a tsunami in southern california?

California regularly is hit by tsunamis. The Alaskan Earthquake of March 28, 1964 generated a great tsunami which was extremely damaging. The tsunami waves were particularly high from Crescent City to Monterey with heights ranging from 7-21 feet.