Where do shallots originate from?

Shallots probably originated in Central or Southwest Asia, travelling from there to India and the eastern Mediterranean.

---

Shallots are native to the Middle-East; their botanical name Allium cepa gr. agregatum refers to the Port of Ascalon, in Palestine, which is now known as the Ashkelon seaside resort in Israel.