What is a kensington lock slot?

A Kensington Security Slot is part of an anti-theft system designed in the early nineteen nineties. The system consists of a small, metal-reinforced hole found on small portable computers and electronics combined with a metal anchor attached to a rubberized metal cable secured with a key or lock.