Who is the first person to stop light?

In 1999, Lene Hau and her colleages at Harvard University successfully slowed a beam of light down to around just 60 kilometres (37 miles) per hour. Two years later, she was able to actually stop a beam of light altogether, the first person to ever accomplish that feat.