Where did the expression raining cats and dogs come from?

In New England, U.S., severe storms can occur which cause small tornadoes, or water spouts, just off the coast. These water spouts can suck fish up into the clouds, resulting in actual fish falling on land. The cats and dogs is from, catfish, and, dogfish, baby sharks.