Is methane a fossil fuel?

Yes. Methane can be produced through biologic decomposition of organic matter at shallow depths, such as swamps, landfills, and even shallow bedrock. However, methane can also be derived as a fossil fuel deep underground, by high pressure and high temperature processes over millions of years.

---

Methane is formed by the decomposition of organic matter, like plants. Methane was formed millions of years ago, and is still being formed today.