Which band had the first number one hit of the nineteen eighties?

KC and the Sunshine Band’s “Please Don’t Go” is the first #1 song by a band in the 1980s. It was released in July 1979 before becoming the first No. 1 song on January 5th, 1980. The first #1 song of the 80s by an individual was Michael Jackson's "Rock with you", hitting #1 on January 19, 1980.