What's a jim's ability to split light into the colors of the spectrum?

As light passes through a prism, it is bent, or refracted, by the angles and plane faces of the prism and each wavelength of light is refracted by a slightly different amount. Since the gem is faceted, it acts as a bunch of different prisms.