What was the world's first democracy?

Led by Cleisthenes, Athenians established what is generally held as the first democracy in 508–507 BC. The term "democracy" first appeared in ancient Greek political and philosophical thought in the city-state of Athens. The word comes from demos, "common people" and kratos, "strength".