What is the smallest particle of an atom?

Atoms are made up of protons, neutrons, and electrons. Of these, the electron is the smallest. It has about 0.00005 times the mass of the proton or neutron. Electrons are so small that their size cannot be measured directly, but you can think of them as being about 10 to the minus 16 centimeters.