Is it good luck to find a penny?

There is an old saying, "See a penny, pick it up, and all day long you'll have good luck."

---

Find a penny and pick it up and all day long you will have good luck. The luck comes by picking up a penny. You will have good luck if a penny is face up, and bad luck if it is face down.