Why are there four presidents on mount rushmore?

Borglum selected the four presidents he felt represented the most important events in U.S. history. Washington, the birth of the U.S.. Jefferson, the growth of the U.S. via the Louisiana purchase. Roosevelt, development, like building the Panama Canal. Lincoln, the preservation of the United States.