What kind of fruit is a pumpkin?

The round orange things we call pumpkins technically qualify as squash since they're part of the Cucurbitaceae family, which contains 700 different species. Pumpkin fruits are a type of botanical berry known as a pepo. They also make great Jack-o-Lanterns and delicious pie!