Why are cuban cigars so good?

Prior to 1959, Cuban cigars were the finest in the world due 2 the quality of their seed and their volcanic soil. After the revolution, Castro, being allied with the USSR, shifted the economy to producing more sugar cane to supply the Soviet market, and allowed the cigar industry to decline.