What's the plot of wicked?

The Broadway musical Wicked is based on the book by Gregory Maguire. In the story, the Wicked Witch of the West from The Wizard of Oz stories gets her own version of the story, telling how she grew up & tried to help the talking animals of Oz & was mostly misunderstood to be wicked.