What is a boa constrictor?

A boa constrictor is a large, non-venomous snake. These snakes usually live in warm, humid climates. They are called "constrictor" because they coil around their food and "constrict" their muscles in order to suffocate their prey. They then open their jaw and slowly swallow their prey whole.