What's an exoskeleton?

An exoskeleton is outside the body. Humans have an endoskeleton; our bones are inside our bodies. These are examples of creatures with an exoskeleton or a rigid supporting skeleton on the outside of their bodies: beetles, grasshoppers, ladybugs, scorpions, lobsters, and crabs.