Where did baker's dozen come from?

In the 1260s, British breadmakers were notorious for giving customers skimpy loaves. King Henry III created a law to standardize the weight of a loaf and punish those who sold light. Bakers made sure they didn't short customers by giving 13 loaves to any customer buying a dozen.