How long do you boil condensed milk to make caramel?

Fill a deep medium saucepan with water. Bring to the boil. Carefully place the can of condensed milk in the saucepan, ensuring there's enough water to completely cover the can at all times, topping up water frequently throughout the cooking process. Simmer, uncovered for 3 hours.