When was the first open heart surgery performed?

On September 7, 1893, the first successful American open-heart surgery was performed by a Black surgeon, Dr. Daniel Hale Williams. Dr. Daniel Williams completed the operation on a young man named James Cornish.

---

The son of a barber, Daniel Hale Williams founded the first black-owned hospital in America, and performed the world's first successful heart surgery, in 1893.