Why are manila envelopes called manila envelopes?

Manila hemp is derived from a species of banana originally from the Philippines, whose fibers are tough. The hemp is then used during the paper making process, similar to how Kraft paper uses wood pulp. So the manila envelope gets its name from the hemp in which it is made from.